Skip to content

Never Mind The Black Lips, Here Comes 60s Garage Rock

August 20, 2009

Coming back to the United States forced me to confront a reality I was hoping to avoid for as long as possible: I have been totally out of touch with new music for the last 2 years.  This thought frightened me; was I really going to limit my appreciation of good tunes to those that I’d heard before 2007?

So I embarked on remedying this in the only way I knew how: ending up learning about something entirely different (the legacy of Columbus lives on in wikipedia). Somehow my quest to become re-acquainted with new stuff ended up in me digging through reviews and recommendations for 60s music, which actually has the same energy as the newer garage-revival stuff (I believe this makes the 5th wave by my count) jam packed with radio-single melodies and jangly solos.

So without further ado, here is an hour-long playlist borne out of the fruits of my misdirected efforts, titled “Never Mind The Black Lips, Here Comes 60s Garage Rock.”  (Link goes to Grooveshark, which will allow you to stream it for free through your browser.)

  1. 13th Floor Elevators – You’re Gonna Miss Me (1966) Contributes to the argument that 4 chords are all you ever need to write a fantastic song.  And then the bridge happens.
  2. The Sonics – The Witch (1965)
  3. Love – 7 and 7 Is (1966) Aggressive, syncopated, and a totally sweet outro
  4. The Standells – Dirty Water (1966)
  5. The Syndicats – Crawdaddy Simone (1965) The beginning will have you ask, “why was this included?” The end will have you wondering when Hendrix played in a garage band.
  6. The Music Machine – Talk Talk (1966)
  7. The Velvet Underground – White Light/White Heat (1968)
  8. The Rats – Rat’s Revenge Part I (1963)
  9. The Barbarians – Are You A Boy Or Are You A Girl? (1966)
  10. Zakary Thaks – Bad Girl (1966) Should be titled, “Bad Ass.”
  11. The Phantom – Love Me (1960) What would happen if Elvis wore leather and grew a mohawk?
  12. The Stooges – 1969 (1969, duh)
  13. The Pretty Things – Rosalyn (1965)
  14. Los Saicos – El Entierro De Los Gatos (1965)
  15. MC5 – Looking At You (1968)
  16. The Castaways – Liar Liar (1965)
  17. The Creation – Making Time (1966) Enjoy having this classic stuck in your head for the next 10 minutes.
  18. The Monks – Complication (1966)
  19. The Kinks – Set Me Free (1965) Enjoy having this classic stuck in your head for the next 10 days.
  20. The Gestures – Run Run Run (1964)
  21. The Brogues – I Ain’t No Miracle Worker (1965)
  22. Question Mark and the Mysterians – 96 Tears (1966) The organ was sent to Earth as a reward from the gods of hook for some pagan sacrifice in the distant past, I’m certain of it.
  23. The Electric Prunes – I Had Too Much To Dream Last Night (1966)
  24. The Chocolate Watch Band – Let’s Talk About Girls (1967)  I had only heard the Undertones version before, so I was shocked to learn that crazy vocal vibratos weren’t actually necessary in this original version.

So, let me know whatcha think!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. tory permalink
    August 20, 2009 3:12 pm

    nice list D. i ran into the exact same problem when i came back. i’ve found that my taste in music changed quite a bit. i get stuck in the hallways of style, only occasionally looking thru portholes to other music. still workin on that so i keep going from extreme to extreme.

    • August 20, 2009 3:25 pm

      I feel that. I’m trying out music blogs like One-Track-Mind which give out a free track every day. Kind of makes catching back up with new stuff more digestible if you bite it off a little chunk at a time.

  2. Jason permalink
    August 20, 2009 4:37 pm

    Nice. I vaguely remember this being discussed the other night. I think they sell a compilation by this name at Decatur CD, though i may have imagined seeing it. also, i doubt the track listing is the the same. anyway, good stuff, listening to it now.

  3. Anneka permalink
    August 24, 2009 5:39 am

    this playlist sort of made me cum in my pants. damn it.

    you could always come back to london, where everyone listens to dirty electro and hot chip is the type of shit your grandmother does the dishes to.

    • August 24, 2009 6:01 am

      Nice friggin gravatar. I’m personally still cleaning up from the first time I listened to it, so I feel your pain there. I want to make it at least to The Kinks but Iggy gets me every time.

Leave a Reply

