Skip to content

If Madden Rated Blogs, This One Would Be A 79 I Guess?

June 5, 2009

DeAngelo Hall, who my Atlanta readers will remember from his buddy-buddy days with Michael Vick, doing everything he could to make Jim Mora go grey, has just received a fate I wouldn’t wish on my worst enemy:

…Hall’s rankings had taken the biggest drop of any player’s in this year’s edition of Electronic Arts’ wildly successful Madden football videogame, plummeting 25 points from a 93 to a 68. And I had seen Hall’s angry comments about that ratings hit on his Twitter feed.

So it didn’t take a genius to put together the aggressive, enthusiastic display on the practice field with the Twittered frustration, and after practice Hall confirmed my suspicions.

“Ah, I’m feelin’ good, man. We just keep trying to get better, but, yeah, I’m trying to blow off some steam with my Madden rating.”

from The Washington Redskins Official Blog

Ouch. I suppose since DeAngelo probably didn’t care too much about his SAT score before attending Virginia Tech, Madden ratings are the closest professional athletes like him have to an objective rating of their abilities.  An unchanging, faceless, embarrassing, and highly public rating at that.

Hall might have reason to be upset.  I personally haven’t paid that much attention to hockey since the lockout, but honestly my evaluation of most players in the league is still based on the player ratings from NHL 2002 (go Keith Tkachuk!).  I wouldn’t be surprised if many casual fans make jersey purchasing decisions taking information from Madden into account.  (Hall?  You mean the guy with the 68 that maybe gets play in my Dime formation?  Pass.)

Which means that we finally have definitive proof that playing for the Raiders is the football equivalent of finishing a case of Bud Light and eating nothing but Andy Capp Hot Fries and fried chicken the night before you take the GRE. Just to make this post about football as nerdy as possible, ya know.

(hat tip to the always hilarious NFL blog Kissing Suzy Kolber, as well as for directing me/you/us to this classic article about Madden’s lowest-ranked player, long-snapper Ethan Albright.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. fredsmilek001 permalink
    June 5, 2009 2:12 pm

    I thought he played bad last year but not that bad.. i think he got jobbed by a few points but what do I know

    http://www.fredjsmilek.com

  2. June 5, 2009 4:32 pm

    hall probably doesn’t care about the rating because of jersey sales. the madden franchise is popular in the general public, but it’s also insanely popular amongst nfl players. almost every nfl player plays it and knows the ratings of all the other players. it’s as if your job performance review was circulated to the entire office, where there are a bunch of terry tate’s waiting to destroy you right outside your cubicle. if respect matters at all in the nfl, either through how it affects player relationships or performance on the field, then hall is probably upset because i bet he’s taking a lot of shit on account of the new madden numbers.

    • June 6, 2009 4:51 am

      Yeah I wouldn’t be surprised if a rookie QB like Mark Sanchez throws at Hall a little more this season just to test him. I also wouldn’t want to line up in front of TO for an entire game with that kind of rating. The trash talk would be relentless. “Hey man, I think you are wearing the wrong jersey. Weren’t you number 68?” And so on and so forth.

Leave a Reply

